Got Some Good Hobbies

January 3, 2009

Way back in the thirties
Philp Blair went to a dance
Where he met the maid Laree
Entirely by chance
They got themselves married
And created Beverly
Beverly met Steve
And they made Matt and me

Grandfather Phil, well
He’s a mystery
No one knows about his past
Not even grandma Laree
Could have saved a man’s life
Or torn him limb from limb
When he dies real soon
His secrets go with him

Whoa whoa whoa
He likes his food
He makes his dough
Whoa whoa whoa
He makes a few good jokes
And he gives it a go

When dad comes home
He has one on the rocks
Hangs out in the kitchen
And my mom and him talks
Says “How you doing, boy?”
When I come down
I’ll be sad when he’s not around

Whoa whoa whoa
He likes his food
He makes his dough
Whoa whoa whoa
He makes a few good jokes
And he gives it a go

With the canon and the guitar
My time I’ll spend
Got some good hobbies
Even better friends
Working on my immortality
When I die they can say of me:

Whoa whoa whoa
He liked his food
He made his dough
Whoa whoa whoa
He made a few good jokes
And he gave it a go

Leave a Reply

